Entering Peru


General Information and Travel Requirements

a) Visas

Peru is basically a country of open doors. The entry into Peru for Citizens of most American and Western European countries does not require a tourist visa. The maximum period of stay granted by the authorities is 183 days (cannot be extended). For longer periods of time for other purposes (business, study, work, etc.) it is necessary to apply for the corresponding visa at a Peruvian consulate.

In order to enter Peru it is indispensible to carry a valid passport. Citizens of Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, Uruguay, Ecuador, Colombia, Bolivia, Venezuela and Chile may enter with their valid national identification document.

Check here if you need a visa

Currency

The “Nuevo Sol” (S/.) is the official currency of Peru. There are notes of the following denominations: 10, 20, 50, 100 and 200 soles. Coins are 10, 20 and 50 cents, as well as 1, 2 and 5 Nuevos Soles.
Countless shops, restaurants, hotels and gas stations accept US Dollars. It is possible to exchange currency in banks and currency exchange agencies. There are also “cambistas” street currency exchangers, but the safety of the transaction is not guaranteed. Currency exchange agencies are regularly open from 9:00 am to 6:00 pm, from Monday to Friday, and half day on Saturdays
Most cities in the country have ATMs connected in most cases to Plus (Visa), Cirrus (MasterCard/Maestro), American Express and other networks. You may withdraw Nuevos Soles or US Dollars, although the exchange rates tend to be less favorable.

Time zone

Peru has one time zone -5h, GMT

Lima 12:00 h London 17:00 h

New York 12:00 h Berlin 18:00 h

Buenos Aires 14:00 h Paris 18:00 h

Santiago 13:00 h Tokyo 02:00 h (*)

México D.F. 11:00 h Sydney 03:00 h (*)

*of the following day

Health

Hygienic conditions in Peru are good, particularly in the cities. Over the last year health services have been modernized and expanded to many hospitals and clinics in order provide adequate care; however it is always advisable to purchase your own travel health insurance.

Vaccination

No vaccinations are mandatory to enter Peru, with the exception of yellow fever for travelers arriving from African or American countries.

Below is a list of recommended vaccinations:

Vaccination Recommended for Destinations where it is recommended

Chicken pox Travelers who have never had chicken pox The whole country

Hepatitis A All travelers The whole country

Hepatitis B Travelers who expect to be in contact with local population for extended periods of time Amazonas, Loreto, San Martín, Ucayali, Junín, Madre de Dios

Yellow Fever Travelers in jungle areas below 2,300 meters (7,546 feet) Amazonas, Loreto, San Martín, Ucayali, Junín, Madre de Dios
The vaccination against yellow fever must be administered at least 10 days before the date of travel to be effective.

More information about the vaccinations can be found here

Consulates and Embassies

Directory of Peruvian Consulates overseas

Directory of Peruvian Embassies overseas

Duty-free items

In line with Peruvian customs regulations, those used or new items that a traveler may reasonably require for use or consumption, and that due to their nature, quantity and variety are not assumed to be for commercial use, are considered as duty-free items.

For more information check the list of exempt items here

When entering Peru, the traveler must fill out the Official Luggage Declaration, which indicates all items that are subject to duty.

Comments

It's only fair to share...
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on LinkedInShare on TumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on YummlyShare on RedditFlattr the authorDigg thisBuffer this pageShare on VK
Copyright© 2014 PeruTravelTips, All rights reserved
Designed by: www.skynetcusco.com / Web Design, Seo, E-commerce